Announcement:  Appointment of Non-Executive Directors


The Sarah Baartman District Municipality [SBDM] and the Cacadu Development Agency [CDA] welcomed new members of the Board of Directors on the 26 April 2024.  The Sarah Baartman District Municipality [SBDM] Portfolio Councillor,  Corporate Service, Mr Phindile Faxi announced the appointment of three new Non-Executive Directors and the reappointment of one onto the Cacadu Development Agency [CDA} Board.  He said that the appointments will ensure strategic alignment in CDA’s pursuit of its mandate to drive economic development in the Sarah Baartman district.  These appointments are for a 5-year term.


The following constitutes new appointments as Non-Executive Directors:


Mr Alroy Taai is retained as the Chairperson of the Board of Directors.  Mr Taai is the former Head of Department at Port Alfred High School, former Deputy Manager at Stenden South Africa and currently a lecturer at Stenden South Africa.  He served the agency since 2013 as a Non-Executive Director and was appointed as the Chairperson of the Board of Directors in 2018.


Mr Khaya Mti is a former Executive of Public Sector Banking at Absa leading a team that managed the banking affairs of municipalities, provincial government, development agencies and institutions of higher learning.  He has vast knowledge and understanding of the public sector environment, policies, regulations and challenges.


Mr Dayalan Pillay was the longest serving Municipal Manager in South Africa post the 2000 democratic order.  He served 4 five-year consecutive terms as a Municipal Manager and is a recognised local government expert.  He has experience in governance, finance, service delivery and economic growth.


Mr Fezekile Cotani has experience in local government and provincial government.  He is the former Director: Corporate Services in Blue Crane Route Municipality and worked for the Department of Human Settlements , at the Western Cape Provincial Government,  establishing a unit dealing with Title Deed Dispute Resolutions.   He has vast experience in Corporate Governance, Human Resources Management and ethics.


The Cacadu Development has a complement of 4 experienced Non-Executive Directors.  The Non-Executive Directors were taken through an induction process which was attended by the SBDM Portfolio Councillor:  Corporate Services, Municipal Manager and Director:  Planning and Economic Development, CDA Chief Executive Officer and Staff.

Seated L-R:  Portfolio Councillor: Corporate Services, Mr Phindile Faxi,  Municipal Manager SBDM, Ms Unati Daniels, CDA Board Chairperson, Mr Alroy Taai


Back L-R:   Mr Fezekile Cotani, Board Member; Mr Khaya Mti, Board Member; Dr Eldrid Uithaler, Chief Executive Officer; Mr Dayalan Pillay, Board Member